AMUG names scholarship winners

March 31, 2021
Teacher, Ph.D. student are honored for demonstrated passion for additive manufacturing.
Additive Manufacturing Users Group
John Sorvillo
John Sorvillo

The Additive Manufacturing Users Group (AMUG) has awarded scholarships to two Ohio men, John Sorvillo and Sean Dobson.

Sorvillo is the director for Westwood Prep Academy at New Beginnings in Youngstown, and through partnerships, collaborations and grants, he has increased the school’s stable of 3-D printers from one to four, which he uses to teach at-risk students skills, including CAD design and teamwork. He has been awarded the Randy Stevens Scholarship.

Dobson is pursuing a Ph.D. in material science at the University of Cincinnati, and was introduced to additive manufacturing (AM) during an internship with Gulfstream Aerospace’s 3D Printing Laboratory. This interest led him to a senior project where he and colleagues created a working prototype of an affordable, modular desktop machine for fused filament fabrication, CNC milling, laser cutting, and injection molding. He was awarded AMUG’s Guy E. Bourdeau Scholarship.

The scholarships honor and recognize students and teachers who demonstrate a passion for additive manufacturing. Recipients attend the AMUG conference for free and present their work to the audience.